Skip to content

Learning to Breathe

July 13, 2010

On the one hand, my day to day life in this in-between period is pretty mild.  Typical quiet summer fare – sleeping a lot, reading a lot, eating a lot, talking a lot.

But flip things over and my life is a bed of tumultuous, magma-tic drama on just about every front.

So forgive me for the schmaltz that has reigned here recently, but I spend a lot of time focusing on my brothers and youngest sister and letting their childishness calm and teach me.  It’s very therapeutic.

They remind me to daydream.

They think it’s kind of fun to get grimy.

They are the best at enjoying the little things in life.

They love hard.

They know how to just sit and let things soak in.

They throw themselves wholeheartedly into just about every possibility for fun that comes their way.

It’s really healthy for me, spending the last month completely joined at the hip to these kids.  So when I feel that spike of tension shooting through my chest, I usually just go grab one or two or three of them and off we go.

The Arby’s dollar menu fries and DQ dip cones that I feel entitled to buy for them don’t exactly hurt either.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathy Ayers permalink
    July 22, 2010 7:20 am

    Leah – PW is doing a water photo thing. You should enter the two pictures above, one of Josh (I LOVE his face in this) and Beks jumping through the sprinkler. You can enter one a day….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

