Skip to content

all squeally on the homefront

December 15, 2008

So Andy and I had a lovely evening out on Saturday, a much-needed “date night.”  We’d been planning it for a few weeks.  The Philadelphia Museum of Art was wrapping up their exhibition of the Gee’s Bend quilts (which were fabulous, incidentally, but a whole different story…), and I desperately wanted to see it.  More on that later! 

Following the art museum, we had a lovely dinner at our favorite Philadelphia restaurant, Rembrandts (in the Fairmount district), where I learned to rank French onion soup as my third favorite food, after masaman (#1), and bagels with cream cheese (#2).

Back at home, we were well fed and happy.  I was wearing a cozy sweater and placidly plugging away at a crossword puzzle.  Andy was half-watching “It’s a Wonderful Life” on TV.  The room was lit entirely by our Christmas tree and garlands.

There was a rustle, a snap, a further unearthly rustling, and a mad psychotic squealing.  That didn’t stop.  We jumped about six feet off the sofa before squirming down into the pillows to try to ignore the reality for just a few more seconds.

About 30 minutes or an hour later, after the squeaking had finally stopped (I’ve never actually listened to any creature die before in my life and I wouldn’t have chosen that moment to be indoctrinated… thank goodness for “It’s a Wonderful Life”) Andy stood before the kitchen sink in battle gear – old clothes, latex gloves, and a tennis racket in case the mouse had merely quieted and not actually bitten the dust.  There was a bloody extraction that followed in which my hubby proved his manly prowess.

Why can’t we have a normal mouse-in-the-house experience?!  Why the gore and agony?  But when I said that to my husband, he sat me down on the couch and told me that I must look at the bright side.  We were full of a good dinner, we were well rested, we were happy.  If I look at life with the right viewpoint, I should see that rather than that being a disruption to an otherwise blissful evening, it was really a blessing from God that we received a trial when we were full of grace and strength to receive it.

I love my life.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. stefangriess permalink
    December 19, 2008 12:04 pm

    Hey!

    Like that story–kind of wish I could’ve seen Andy in that garb! I mean, where was the sweater-vest?! 🙂

    Jaimy and I are looking forward to some much-needed time together, too, after our semester at seminary.

    Prayers and thoughts!

  2. abbybarr permalink
    December 23, 2008 1:38 am

    and at least it was a dying/dead mouse… that’s your whole goal lately, right??? it was a victory and a success! although quiet deaths *are* much nicer, and make you feel more humane.

  3. December 23, 2008 1:32 pm

    Man points for AJ Stapes! Yesterday I met our neighbor, Bethany, she informed me that a squirrel ran across her toes at 2am while doing dishes…. They caught and killed 3 already. Remarkably they live in the basement.. 2 floors below us. Just plain weird.

Leave a Reply

