Skip to content

easter

April 14, 2009

So, we had a really great Easter with my family!  We went home straight after work on Wednesday and didn’t leave until supper time on Easter Sunday.  We stayed up late, slept in, played games, shopped, cooked, ate, laughed, talked and talked and talked about everything that needed talking out.  I even got to spend some lovely time with very-much-missed friends, Ian and Susan!  It was much-needed rest and fun time for hubby and me.  Of course, we both looked forward to it for so long only to have it breeze by before we could blink.

I realized over break that there are a couple of things that I just really, really, really appreciate in my family.  I don’t take them for granted, persay – but I don’t notice them very often, and it brought me a lot of joy to both enjoy and appreciate them over this break.  One is that no matter how many of us are in a room, it never feels too full.  Nine people congregating in a room with a little yorkiepoo (not to mention the full baskets of laundry someone is folding) is not only quite unchaotic, but rather restful (or do we just have high chaos tolerance?!).

The other thing I appreciate is that there is nothing I can’t say to my family.  There is such easy love and understanding, such trust, such a mastery of the art of forgiving and forgetting, such a desire to reach out and help, that I have nothing to hide.

I truly am blessed.  My family isn’t perfect by any means, but they are very special.  I just hope that Andy and I can foster the same environment in our own family someday.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

