Skip to content

Slim Pickin’s

April 28, 2009
So the round up this month is more than slim.  Apparently I was a little bit too good at my quest to maintain a hard line on the grocery budget.  Only three suppers to go, BUT out of only these ingredients:
 
One frozen bag of edamame, one can crushed pineapple, one can stewed tomatoes, carrots, various shapes of pasta, breaded chicken tenders, half a jar of salsa, 1/3 of a jar of tomato sauce, apples, chicken breasts, one box brownie mix, about five shreds of red onion, a handful of sliced olives, 1/8 block semi-soft mozzarella.
 
I confess, I began the round up process about four or five days ago, when there was a slightly larger arsenal in the pantry.  I’ve already made a chicken pot pie out of butter, flour and the dregs of all the bags of frozen veggies in the freezer; I made a yummy chicken salad out of leftover almonds, a diced apple, and shredded chicken; and on Saturday we cleaned up by using our remaining 3 eggs to make one meatlovers omelette (bacon, sausage, and mozzarella) and one Italian omelette (sausage, red onion, roasted red pepper, and olives).
 
But now I’m at the tough stage; I’m so sick of chicken I’m about to sprout feathers; and it’s so hot that the thought of cooking anything is miserable…
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

