Skip to content

Andy and Food.

May 5, 2009

Sometimes I feel like my sole quest and delight in life is to open Andy’s eyes to the colorful, delicious, bright, spicy, uncharted world that I grew up in.  Not just food but… food is my favorite :).  I’m a product of real Texas Tex-Mex, real NYC bagels, real DC suburb halvah, real wild, grass-fed rural PA venison, real Korean bulgogi and for-real, unmistakable, mouthwatering northwestern Pennsylvania elderberry pie. 

But I find, with Andy, that he’s only game if he has no clue what I’m about to introduce to him. He now loves spicy fajitas, chipotle powder, Thai masaman curry, Chinese ketchup chicken, risotto, and a nice red shiraz.  But he had no idea what they were before I set them in front of them.  If it comes to something that he thinks he knows something about, he can be remarkably hard-headed.

And tonight, my victory is microwave-baked potatoes and barbecue sauce.

After spending two years saying that he would forever abhor these things, Andy has finally capitulated.  I’m thrilled… because I missed my food.  After learning that our oven took 1.75-2 hours to cook a baked potato (it’s a funky oven), I quickly gave up on oven-baked potatoes; and the barbecue sauce – well, I’ve been craving it for twelve months, and usually nothing stands in the way of MY cravings.

The trick to the barbecue sauce was explaining to Andy that the delicious from-scratch sloppy joes that I make for him – that he requests constantly – that he loves – that he will eat three days in a row – are just ground beef simmered in a homemade barbecue sauce.  I could tell that that made him think… and after letting him stew over that a bit, I casually mentioned at the grocery store one day that “I was going to go grab a jar of barbecue sauce” and when he did not protest, I knew I’d won (believe me, he protested very vocally before).

The baked potatoes?  I have no idea what brought him around.  But as of Sunday, he is officially okay with microwave-baked potatoes, and just this evening emphatically stated that they taste hardly different than oven-baked potatoes.  Hallelujah!

So tonight is a good night.  Oven baked chicken thighs smothered in barbecue sauce, with a side of (microwaved) baked potatoes and a delicious spring green salad with cucumber, broccoli, celery and carrot.  With strawberry-yogurt covered raisins for dessert.  MMmm.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    May 8, 2009 2:10 am

    Congratulations 🙂
    This is a touchy issue I’ve been wondering what’s the right way to approach. I mean, I don’t want to ignore Jeff’s wishes and insist on serving food he doesn’t like, nor deceitfully sneak in foods he’s told me he dislikes in the hopes he doesn’t mean it and won’t notice. But if I can somehow do it respectfully, I would like to convince him to like certain things that I like!

Leave a Reply

