Skip to content

Summer?

June 3, 2009

Well, the month of May completely escaped me.  There really was nothing normal about it.  We had houseguests almost every weekend, which was a blast.  It also meant that my pantry had to be fully stocked at all times for those picky eaters among us, so there was, lamentably, no pantry round-up/clean-out and, most decidedly, no fixed budget adhered to :).

Even work was insanely busy.  Commencement ceremonies, even at a small higher education institution, are no small feat, and I now have a huge appreciation for those institutions that push thousands of students through graduation each year!  On the last day of commencement week, I got home, showered, got into bed, and didn’t get out until 12:30 pm the following day.  I didn’t even eat dinner.  And if you know me, you know that that… well, I can count on one hand the times that has happened in my life.

And now it’s on to… summer?  What is summer if you have to keep going to work?  As the daughter of a professor, I have never known a time when summer was not… summer.  For the whole family.  Summer means early morning patios and long stays at Grandma’s, camping, road-trip vacations (sometimes a month long!), dusk drives in the pick-up truck with my sisters and fishing out of the canoe with Dad.

Even my summer jobs consisted primarily of freelance editorial and research work for the faculty, helping out administratively at career services, and babysitting.  Are those jobs really work, anyways?  (except for reformatting hundreds of citations from MLA into ASA.  that’s work.)

And now, summer means doing the same thing I’ve done every other day this year – except I can wear sandals instead of clogs, and the campus is a bit quieter now.  But in my little converted broom closet tucked away under the staircase, who can tell anyways?  And my apartment definitely has no porch or patio for morning breakfasts.

But, that’s the onward march of life, right?  Summer does have some new meanings, now.  It means gritty summer city pavement, fresh gelato, Rita’s, lunch at pretty sidewalk cafes downtown, long walks to the soft pretzel factory, bright, fresh veggies to cook with and long lazy movie nights with Andy.  I’m learning to like those things too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    June 4, 2009 8:22 pm

    Thanks for posting! I do love it that it mainly revolves around food! I love you….

  2. Mollie permalink
    June 10, 2009 10:05 am

    We really were spoiled by having a professor dad, weren’t we? I told someone the other day that when I was younger, I didn’t understand why my friends’ dads weren’t available in the summer or why they had to carefully plan their trips around “vacation days.” June-August was one big vacation day! Can’t wait to see you in a few weeks! You can come for breakfast on my deck, if you want…

Leave a Reply

