Skip to content

Pre-Vacation Food and Vacation Food Plans

June 26, 2009

The end of the month is only a day away for me!  We are going home for a week tomorrow.  Our food life has also been quite simple this month as we’ve been out of town nearly every weekend, so we’ve been able to clean out the fridge nearly every Friday.  Ah, the beauty of summer.

We made a pact to only get small, no-prep fruits this week and to have small meals that we could eat in one sitting or, at most, for lunch the next day.  We also agreed to not open any new cans, jars, or anything else that might not get used up by Saturday morning. 

So basically, we were trying to make it through without buying anything new, like usual at the end of the month, but we were also trying to use everything up we had.  I will admit, I did get a few tummyaches this week from eating foods that do not pair well – don’t ever follow a large quantity of pitas and hummus with fresh pineapple.  Ugh.

Anyways, we ate sides of applesauce, dried apricots, fresh cut pineapple, bananas and oh-so-good fresh green grapes all this week.  We then focused on clearing out the freezer – frozen chicken thighs baked with barbecue sauce, lentil soup, and frozen berries to go in pancakes.

We used up the frozen ground beef, some sour cream and a jar of salsa by making our favorite – salsa stroganoff.  It’s so good!  Just cook up 3/4 lb of ground beef, then throw in some penne, a cup of water, and a jar of salsa and cover.  After 10 minutes or so, stir in a cup of sour cream (we like to add frozen corn too) and voila!  Deliciousness. 

My cooking urges, however, are being a bit suppressed.  But oh, I have plans!  My mom and sisters are going to eat well next week while the boys are off camping – I have plans for pioneer woman’s tomato cream pasta, and smitten kitchen’s big crumb coffee cake!!!  And how about some pasta primavera, with loads of eggplant? 

And oh my goodness.  I have to share this.  I made this while at home a couple of weeks ago.  Be jealous.  Be very jealous.  Make it as soon as you can, it really is special.  I used two jars of Aldi’s pasta sauce in lieu of the canned tomatoes.  It made it saucier, and more flavorful, although I still added dried basil and oregano.  It was a TON of filling, so by using a bit of extra cheese and all the noodles, I made a couple more layers than called for and baked it in a deep dish pan.  It was really good, with that delicious type of full feeling.

Okay, that’s the update on what’s cooking in our household, if you cared. 🙂  If you’ll excuse me, I’m starving now and need to eat my lunch!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    June 26, 2009 4:25 pm

    Leah, you’re making me hungry! Your descriptions are fantastic. Just a few more minutes before I head home to cook dinner:)

  2. Mom permalink
    June 27, 2009 5:42 pm

    I am going to hold you to that cooking deal! Can’t wait. Pray the week goes really slow!

  3. Sarah permalink
    July 2, 2009 6:03 am

    I made the salsa stroganoff last night and it was delicious. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

