Skip to content

Water

July 10, 2009

I’ve always been mildly obsessed with water.

Sometime in grade school, I remember having a particularly frightening lecture at school on the importance of imbibing 8 glasses of water a day.  I came home from school very determined to set my poor soul on the right path, so I poured myself a big glass of water and determined to pour myself a new one on the stroke of every hour.

About 2.5 hours in, I was dying.  I remember sitting there in the living room, staring at that half glass of water on the coffee table and groaning.

I kept at it and by high school and college, I was a pro at drinking water.  I had to ban 32-ounce Nalgenes from my life because they’d be gone so fast, I was destroying my study productivity running to the bathroom all the time.  I think I was drinking up to 100 ounces of liquid a day sometimes.

But upon beginning to work full time, have my own apartment and experience all the busy-ness of adult life, I suddenly fell into, for me, the ufamiliar territory of dehydration.  I was either too busy or would forget to drink water.  And to complicate matters, upon realizing I was severely thirsty of an evening, I’d down about 35 ounces of water in the space of ten minutes, flooding my system and often getting dizzy from the impact.  Not a good thing!

So last week, after another terrifying lecture, this one from my mother on the damage I was doing to my kidneys and in horrendous fear of kidney stones, kidney failures and other terrifying things, I made a vow to somehow regulate my wildly fluctuating habits of drinking.

I’m learning to sip water over the course of a day.  I fill a 32-ounce water bottle in the morning, keep it with me at all times and drink 2 ounces every 30 minutes, or about one good sip every 15 minutes.  Torture, I say, torture – both to remember to drink, and not to gulp.  It really is training and I’m nowhere near learning my lesson.

Why is it so hard to be healthy?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    July 16, 2009 10:52 am

    You just keep this up! I know it is hard, but I feel so much better when I know you are trying to drink your water!

Leave a Reply

