Skip to content

Furniture

July 15, 2009

Females have this unique syndrome called something like, Must Move Furniture Around Periodically.  My dad comments on it all the time and even went so far as to warn Andy of it before we married.  I thought maybe it was just my Mom, me, and my sisters who did it, and he was the only man annoyed by it, but then I recently read the below passage in a book by Jan Karon.  The piece is an exchange of letters between two Episcopalian priests.

From Father Tim:

While I’m at it, let me ask you: Why are women always moving things around:  At Sunday School, Jena Ivey had the youth group move the kindergarten bookcases to a facing wall.  On the homefront, my househelp has moved a ladderback chair from my bedroom into the hall, never once considering that I hung my trousers over it for 14 years, and put my shoes on the seat so they could be found in an emergency.  Last but certainly not least, if Cynthia could lift me in my armchair and put it by the window while I’m dozing, she would do it.  Without a doubt, you have weightier things to consider, but tell me, how does one deal with this?

Bishop Stuart’s reply:

In truth, it is disconcerting when one’s househelp, SS supervisor, and wife do this sort of thing all at once.  My advice is: do not fight it.  It will wear off.

In his peace, Stuart

P.S. Martha would add a note, but she is busy moving my chest of drawers to the far side of our bedroom.  As I am dealing with an urgent matter with the House of Bishops, I could not be browbeaten to help, and so she has maneuvered it, at last, onto an old bedspread, and I can hear her hauling the whole thing across the floor above me.  This particular behavior had lain dormant in her for nearly seven years, and has suddenly broken forth again.

Perhaps it is something in the water.

In the span of two years in our apartment, I’ve rearranged the furniture three times.  I always love it when I’m finished, but after about six months, it’s time for a change.  I blame it on the new stuff that comes in and accumulates around it; new patterns of life; claustrophobia; spring cleaning; hormones.  Whatever the cause is, this summer is time for a new look.

To kick off Apartment Improvements Summer 2009, we went out and bought this beauty last night: http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/10062592.  I’m so excited!  We have the seven-drawer matching dresser already, but it’s full of Andy’s clothes… and this one will be mine, all mine!!!  🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    July 16, 2009 10:53 am

    Oh, I am really feeling it! I had wanted to change around the living room months ago and didn’t! It seems that it just isn’t really clean until you get things moved!

Leave a Reply

