Skip to content

Greek Yogurt

July 28, 2009
tags: ,

Last Saturday I was putting together Andy’s favorite egg dish for his birthday breakfast (you can find the original recipe, which I have altered significantly over time, here).  Problem was, as I put together the dish, I discovered that we didn’t have any sour cream.  The sour cream is what adds most of the richness to the souffle and since I was going all-out to make my foods decadent for Andy’s sake, I was pretty bummed.

But never fear, dear readers.  Just in the nick of time, Andy had a rare moment of culinary brilliance (or maybe desperation at the possible loss of those extra calories) and suggested that I just “toss that Greek junk you’ve been eating for lunch in there.”

The “junk” was Greek yogurt, and I’d read it is excellent for cooking because of its higher stability than most dairy products.  So, toss I did.  And I have to say that it was really the best the dish has EVER turned out.  There was something special about the consistency of the eggs, and I’m positive it had to do with the Greek yogurt.  It was 0% fat, but still had much more thick, creamy heft than even full-fat sour cream – so we actually gained in creaminess while lowering the fat content.

But you don’t have to cook with it – that was the first time I had!  I can’t sing the glories of a bowl of plain Greek yogurt topped with GoLean crunch and berries enough.  To this tangy-loving girl, it’s bliss.  Grapenuts, bananas and honey is a particularly great combination as well.  It’s a solid breakfast or lunch; I have frequently eaten it for dinner when Andy’s away; and saute-ing up walnuts, rosemary, butter and honey for a hot topping turns it into a (DELICIOUS!) dessert.

I guess the whole point to this post is to encourage YOU to think about using Greek yogurt when and where you can (it’s relatively expensive – but for one person, a whole container can provide about four good meals, as I usually only eat about 1/2 cup at a time).  Here is the website for my favorite brand, Fage – and they also have some neat recipes!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tosha permalink
    July 29, 2009 5:51 pm

    David and I love (love) Greek yogurt! We have found that the Trader Joes brand is a little cheaper. I don’t know how it compares to Fage in taste + texture. Also, Stoneyfield sells Oikos (their brand of GY) which might be a little cheaper. Your recipe sounds amazing! I’ll have to try it!

  2. Anna permalink
    July 30, 2009 11:02 am

    How do you think this would compare to the store-bought version?
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/greek-yogurt-recipe/index.html

  3. Ellen permalink
    August 5, 2009 4:55 pm

    I can attest to the fact that the souffle was delicious! (are you going to post on the cinnamon rolls, too?)

    Great job quoting Andy. Sounds just like him!

Leave a Reply

