Skip to content

i like to eat whatever i feel like.

September 23, 2009

I always sign up to bring foods to parties and lunches and end up bringing completely the wrong thing even though in my mind it was a very logical progression from one to the other.  For example, I was supposed to bring sun dried tomato bread with a sun dried tomato spread once.  I showed up with eggplant caponata and red pepper gorgonzola dip.  To me, it was perfectly all right – they were all red spreads, right?  No.

In keeping with this habit, I was supposed to bring muesli bars to a grains-themed work lunch tomorrow in order to add a bit of nutrition to a menu mostly made up of rice krispy treats.  What is in my oven right now?  Oatmeal cookies.  

But you know, the muesli bar recipes were hard to find, so I switched to regular granola bars, but didn’t have all the healthy stuff necessary, like wheat germ… and then I got distracted looking at oat recipes, and then oatmeal cookies… and I found a recipe and started throwing stuff in a bowl… and voila.  But if it makes us both feel any better, the recipe called for granola instead of oats, and then I added dried fruits and nuts and some extra flour and pressed them into a pan so they look a little bit more like what I was supposed to bring.

Here’s the recipe, it smells delicious:

  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 cups granola with raisins
  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 2/3 cup dried cranberries (I’m lying on the measurements for these last three things, I just dumped as much as looked delicious to me)

Cream butter and sugar (I like to do this by hand and then tick it off on the calendar as a “worked out” day).  Add egg and vanilla, beating well.  Sift together dry ingredients and stir into wet until combined.  Add in granola.  Add chocolate, almonds and cranberries and then fold like crazy because it will be like trail mix!  Press into a non-greased pan and bake at 375.  I had no preconceived notions as to the time and just let them bake till nice and brown and done… it took 25 minutes for a relatively thick cookie, er, muesli bar.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathy Ayers permalink
    October 1, 2009 9:45 pm

    When I am not doing no sugar no flour anymore, I am definately going to make some of these. I bet they were hard not to eat! But just think how much cheaper they are than a little box of them, and how much much better!

Leave a Reply

