Skip to content

october wind

September 30, 2009

I walked out onto the porch after work, emerging from a lemon-scented clorox cloud, and the air smelled, for the very very first time, like fall.  I just noted yesterday that the air smelled fresh; it felt a bit chilly; but it didn’t have that kick in the undertone that makes your lungs feel cleansed.  The temperature was the same today; but that little whisper of winter was there, just in the way that it smelled.  I just let it fill my lungs as I headed home.

My dad did a study once in grad school that concluded that smell is not nearly so significant a trigger of memory as many would like to think.  But maybe it just triggers memory in a special way.  I’d like to think that a smell triggers an emotional memory.  That when you smell something, you remember feelings attached to that smell, and vague related pleasant images, rather than the event.  For hours after I stepped into the fall wind, everything felt different.  My lamps felt warm instead of dim; making dinner late felt homey instead of frantic; my apartment felt like home.

In a few short hours, it will be October.  October is my favorite month.  Some of the very best times of my life have been in October; and some of the very worst times of my life have been in October.  It’s a time for strong emotion, for the deep things and for extremes.  Everything in October comes with a bite.  It’s a time for hot ovens and cold nights, for loving intensely, for falling apart, for filling foods, crunchy leaves and for going home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mollie permalink
    October 1, 2009 12:50 pm

    agreed.

  2. Kathy Ayers permalink
    October 1, 2009 9:47 pm

    Tonight at soccer, the leaves were all turning, the sky was blue, the air was crisp, and I needed you sitting beside me!

Leave a Reply

