Skip to content

Christmas Heritage

December 10, 2009

I got a new camera the other day, and I am so excited about it!  Of course, opening up the owner’s manual was like reliving my first day of Greek in college – but, as with picking up Greek, after a few pages, I felt better.  All I want is to be capable of taking frame-able photos of my future babies, and I think we can manage that.

Between the new camera and putting up my Christmas tree last Saturday, I have been positively giddy.  I’ve written about putting up my tree before, so I will spare you my rapturous glee over the stacks of ornament boxes, the Nat King Cole, and Grandpa’s pickles that followed; but if you don’t mind, I will show you a few photos of some of my favorite ornaments, just because I’m so happy both about it and my new plaything.

Disclaimer: Excuse my poor photographic skills.  I took these photos right after I turned the camera on, just to see what it could do and what the settings were like.  I wanted to try with and without flash, with the apartment dark, with the ISO set super high… well, whatever, they were like my first 10 photos, okay!

Disclaimer #2: I have a really ugly fake tree, and the branches, close up, leave much to be desired.  Brace yourself.

 

Teddies are my favorite.  They can be sweet, cutesy, elegant, childish, fun, delicate.  I have a whole set of these little porcelain bears in lots of poses.  They were given to me when I was one year old by one of my Mom’s best friends (and maid of honor).

 

These ornaments are especially precious to me.  When I was about five, my Dad and I sat at the kitchen table all evening cutting out patterns from thin paper Christmas napkins and pasting them to styrofoam balls.  He has half of them at home to hang on the family tree, and I have half here with me.

But not all of my nostalgia-filled ornaments are old.  For my wedding, some of my Dad’s family gave me beautiful handmade glass wedding ornaments from Germany.  These gifts have a strong heritage because not only because my Dad’s family is all German, but my grandmother especially loved and was proud of her Christmas ornament collection, which she had amassed throughout her life and from many different countries.  She would have been very happy with those wedding gifts. 

 

Like my grandmother, I have begun collecting ornaments as I travel to new places.  I found this lovely bulb in a quaint shop outside of Richmond when traveling with my three best friends.  It has happy memories of that trip.

 

And finally, our ornament collection has swelled as Andy’s Nana gifted us with a portion of her collection of ornaments.  Angels were her favorite, and for some reason I really like this little tiny one.  I imagine that she’s singing “Angels We Have Heard on High” in a really high, piping voice.

I don’t think there’s a single ornament on my tree that I don’t have a story for, and I love squealing as I pull them out every year and remember so many happy things.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathy Ayers permalink
    December 12, 2009 4:36 pm

    Hey Leah! These pictures came out great! What fun! And you have to get Andy up to speed for Pioneer Woman! Love you!

Leave a Reply

