Skip to content

Me and PW

December 13, 2009

Pioneer Woman (Ree Drummond) was holding a book signing for her new cookbook in West Chester today, and Andy and I had been planning for weeks to attend.  I hadn’t yet seen a copy of the cookbook – it made the anticipation of the event that much more exciting to wait to read it.  I’d been waiting and waiting and waiting…

Isn’t it pathetic, then, that this morning I was such a nervous wreck over attending the book signing for this woman that I admire and respect so much that I just kind of crumbled into a pathetic, teary I-don’t-know-what-to-wear-I’m-going-to-look-stupid-I-don’t-know-what-to-say-we’re-not-going-to-make-it-in-time  freak.  Pathetic?  Yes.  But we’ve all had those moments, right?

Andy weathered the storm and decided that we would skip church and get to the event early, and I managed to pick out a semi-decent outfit; and we were out the door.  I cheered up on the way there, but visions of unfriendly, chaotic mobs of the overly beautiful people that Philadelphia seems to be populated with kept playing in my head.  Upon arriving at the independent bookstore, I hid in the car to fortify myself with a vanilla pudding while Andy ran in to “scope things out”.

All of my fears were ill-founded.  The PW book signing was extremely well run, efficient, fun, and attended by kind, lovable, very normal, non-model people of all generations who just seemed to want to have fun and be friendly.  Everyone was issued a number (mine was 74, incidentally), and once we’d purchased our specially tagged books, we were herded back to a large back room with seats set up.  Andy and I snagged good seats and settled in to read and relax until Ree arrived.  Things filled up quickly, and I would guess that in the end there were 300-400 people there.

 

Ree arrived and did a really fun Q&A session with the crowd.  We were so impressed at how articulate and diplomatic she was.  She answered every question gracefully and tactfully.  And she was as funny as ever.  I was interested to hear about her homeschooling curriculum, and did you know her major was Gerontology in college??!!

After that, we were called up to the signing line in groups of twenty.  The atmosphere was so jovial and friendly, and Ree was so gracious and generous with her time, never becoming brusque even with people who were lingering too long.

 

 

 

Time flew for me, and before I knew it I was next in line, and completely panicking.  I still had NO idea what to say.  So, in the last split second, I decided to just not bother being super chatty.  I just got out a lot of grins, as usual.  I did manage, when she explained “Oh, a boy!!!” at Andy, that he was willing to come because he loved her cinnamon rolls so much… and goodness, if I made those every day, Andy just might love me even more than he already does.  She signed my stuff and, seeming to sense that I was just a tad shy, saved me by asking if I wanted to take a picture with her, which I was still working up the guts to ask for!

She chatted with me a bit more and then… it was over.

 

All that anticipation and build up and it was over in such a whirlwind!  I stayed and took a few more pictures and then it was home through the pouring rain for a hot shower and some hot soup and to look through my new cookbook!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Ayers permalink
    December 14, 2009 9:02 am

    Great Post Leah! Sounds like a perfect day! Next time I must be there! Sorry no tee-shirt, but the cookbook will last forever!

  2. Anna permalink
    December 14, 2009 9:19 am

    This is a great post:) I’m glad you had a good time and the picture is great too!

  3. December 14, 2009 11:54 am

    Well, this is just way cool!

  4. Sue Shirron permalink
    December 14, 2009 2:00 pm

    The only way this day could have even been a smidge better is if your mom and I could have been there! I am so proud of you that you went – and Andy too!! What a fun day!!
    xo
    Sue

  5. December 14, 2009 10:26 pm

    LOVE IT!!!!! You are as cute as they come!

  6. Rosemarie Sarra permalink
    January 8, 2010 1:04 am

    I was there too! I got lost in the wilds of PA and got there late. I was next to last getting my book signed and Ree was just as gracious and nice as I hoped she would be. I’m so glad you had a good time. I did too.

Leave a Reply

