Skip to content

stirred, not shaken

May 18, 2010
tags:

Jersey Shore, originally uploaded by nevershaken.

Let’s talk about me and my blog for a little bit. As you can see, there have been a few changes not just to the looks of this blog, but to the title.

When I started this blog, it was called Barefoot in Philadelphia. I wanted to write about the balance between being a young wife and a young career woman, whose canvas for life was not just in the kitchen but also in the big city she was surrounded by.

More recently, I’ve been operating under the title This Is The Day. I had a cool little photo of an Isaiah Zagar South St. mosaic (again, in keeping with the Philadelphia theme) with the words “This Is The Day.” I wanted it to reflect my desire to live in the moment and seize every opportunity.

But, as you may have noticed, my url address is actually nevershaken.wordpress.com. When I initially started this blog, before I wrote anything in it, I wanted it root it in Psalm 16:8 –

I have set the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

My life felt crazy and, like I mentioned, I was struggling to figure out how to balance all the marriage, work, home, family, church directions in my life while making my debut on the stage of the real world. I ended up deciding that “Never Shaken” didn’t work as a blog title, so I dropped it and even, over time, considering exporting this blog to a new web address.

I’m glad I didn’t. Now I’ve come full circle and I am debuting my new and permanent blog title, “Stirred, Not Shaken.” Beside being a snide reference to cooking (which this blog does/will contain much of), it also reflects my desire to write about being stirred by the beauty, joy, trials, and suffering of this world, but not to be shaken by it. With God at my right hand, I am day by day moved to reflect on his glory, and stand firm in the light of his presence.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

