Skip to content

i’ve given up on ever making up my mind… about anything.

May 20, 2010

Well… in line with my new Fully Embrace Your ADD Mentality philosophy, my mind has been chock full of decorating ideas recently.  I haven’t cooked a lick in the last couple of months and I’ve been reading Great Expectations, but it is just so incredible, so perfect that I have nothing to say about it yet and it has totally squelched my confidence in my own writing for the time being.

But lately, I do sit around looking at fabrics, paint colors, sofas, art, quilts, furniture to be refinished.  I’d like to think of it this way – I simply morph my creative tendencies around what is going on in my life.  We can talk more about what is going on with me later, but suffice it to say that it will involve home decor, sewing, painting, and refinishing furniture.

Unfortunately, even within one creative genre, I can’t help but change my mind.  Constantly.  Daily.  Momentarily.  One day I am planning to recreate this quilt using my itsy bitsy sewing machine and paint little nightstands the exact color of the blue wooden screen:

(This room is from Pottery Barn.)

And the next moment, I am going to complement my wooden dressers with this gorgeous, amazing thing:

(I found this beautiful duvet on Dayka’s website.)

And, to be honest, in the next few moments I will probably be off on a completely new track.  I can’t pick my style.  I vacillate between loving mid-century Danish furniture and Martha Stewart style corbels and pastels and Colonial era planks and painted floors.  But I will say this – at least my imagination never stops!!!

So… what do you think?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 2:16 pm

    Hello sweet Leah – I love that duvet! Oh my, so beautiful. I know what you mean about changing your mind. I don’t have one particular style…it’s very eclectic. Thank you for sharing!

    Blessings,
    Marie

Leave a Reply

