Skip to content

a 1930′s era apartment in black and white

May 22, 2010

When Andy and I first saw an apartment in our complex, I knew we had to move in.  Cost didn’t matter.  Lack of a/c or dishwasher didn’t matter.  I wanted it.  I had a little bit of romanticism for older homes, and the 1930’s era apartments with brick exterior and all original floors, walls, windows, doors and fixtures seemed to me the perfect place to build a home.

I was in love with the original sash windows.

And the black and white tiling in the bathroom was just so antique and pretty.

I loved the view through the panes in the window.

I liked the idea of moist radiator heat.

And the hardwood floors completely stole my heart.

And, three years later, I still love our apartment.  We built a marriage here, and it will always have a special place in our hearts because it was our first home.  But, well, there are a few things…

The mold that grows in the crevices on the windows, no matter what I do.

That pretty view through the paned windows?  Well, that hill I found so picturesque at first prevents any direct sunlight from ever reaching our apartment.  See that blaze of sunlight?  It comes in our windows weakly for about fifteen minutes a day.

The amazingly soundproof plaster walls and tight wooden windows and charmingly retro lack of updates means that, without an air vent in the bathroom, we have a lot of peeling, moldy paint.

And those radiators?  Even when not turned on, they get hot.  Hot.  And the walls get hot from their pipes.  And the floors get hot from their pipes.  And our apartment is just hot, hot, hot.

But how can I complain?  I love it here.  Even the annoying things.  I love the settling noises of the old building; I love the rattling of the pipes at night; I love the beautiful woodwork and solid wood six panel doors; I love my dinky kitchen and my hardwood entryway.  All the things that make it irritating and difficult to live in at times give it character and interest and charm all the time.  And I love it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. amb permalink
    May 24, 2010 11:14 am

    hey leah… i just wanted to let you know that i had gotten way behind in my blogreader lately, but i kept saving yours unread… and last night i finally caught up, and it was well worth it. i like all your posts and thoughts. your post about knowing your family vs. knowing a husband inspired me to call my family just to say hi, and i also now have a polyvore account. 🙂 cheers! –abby barr

    • Leah permalink*
      May 24, 2010 11:47 am

      thanks Abby! (isn’t polyvore awesome?) I have to say, I love when your blog pops up in my google reader. I hope you don’t quit blogging when you move back to the US! I hope this last week or so goes smoothly for you!!

Leave a Reply

