Skip to content

Goodbye, Phila. #1 – My Favorite Place

June 3, 2010

I thought that I would begin my “Goodbye Tour” of Philadelphia by just showing you my very, very favorite spot in the entire city.  It’s not even remotely touristy, I am usually the only person on the street except for occasional joggers, it doesn’t have any restaurants or shops and you might not even want to ever go there.  But for what it’s worth, it is the most beautiful place I have found all over the city.

The 1800 block of Delancey Street encapsulates for me why I love Philadelphia.  It’s walkable, it’s not corporate, it is full of history and beautiful architecture, it is quiet, it is tree-lined.  I have always loved discovering these lovely little surprising side streets as I explore Philadelphia.  And it is simply beautiful.

The brick and stone sidewalks:

The iron fence surrounded gardens:

The beautifully cultivated flowers:

And the historic, multi-million dollar homes that line the street (I am not exagerrating.  I was curious, so I looked up the house that was for sale on the street.  $3,250,000.  WOW.):

Do you see how the front stoop is slightly worn down from 200 years of use?  I love seeing these history-altered stoops throughout the city.

I love this street.  I did some of my sister’s senior photos here, and I love to take a brief walk down it on a sunny Sunday afternoon on my way back from church (which was, incidentally, when I snapped these photos).  It’s a nice, quiet place to soak up Philadelphia’s charm, and worth a lovely, slow walk down when you happen to be passing by.

If you’d like to see more photos from Delancey, you can check out my Philadelphia Flickr set here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 11:25 pm

    That does look like a wonderful street! I am going to go look @ Flickr…

  2. June 4, 2010 9:33 am

    I too love taking a strole away from the rush of life to look around and see the things that we so often miss in the business we call life…beautiful pictures.

  3. Marci Dodds permalink
    June 4, 2010 9:41 am

    Leah, I am going to love reading about your goodbye to Philly. It truly is a history-packed, wonderful city.

  4. June 4, 2010 1:27 pm

    You found a beautiful spot, the yellow door is so striking. I used to live in Chicago, and know a street much like this one :).

  5. June 4, 2010 10:56 pm

    Hello sweet Leah – I’m visiting from The Inspired Room! Thank you for sharing these photos! I love that yellow door too. And the little window above it is fabulous.

    Blessings,
    Marie

    • Leah permalink*
      June 4, 2010 10:59 pm

      thanks! my favorite part of the photo is that the window reflects the blue sky 🙂

Leave a Reply

