Skip to content

Goodbye, Phila. #3 – The Only Real Diner in the World

June 8, 2010

There is one diner, and one diner only that I love.

I’m just not much of a diner person.  I don’t like the meals that were bought at Restaurant Depot in the frozen section and then plopped onto a plate for your consumption after an hour in the oven defrosting.  Can I get an amen?

But there’s something about the atmosphere of a diner that’s so comforting.  The free laughter, the people running into their friends and hugging each other, the casual decor, the… comfort food.

The Trolley Car Diner is located in the incredibly cute Chestnut Hill district of Philadelphia, quite close to where I live.  And you simply can’t help but love it, since you can enjoy the 50’s vibe, the community, the warm and comforting food… but you can still have healthy, special, fresh, surprising food that was obviously prepared just for you, with real vegetables.

This is my favorite meal.  I get it every single time I’m here – I mean, when you really love something, why bother getting anything else?  This is the reason that I stop at this diner.  What other diner do you know of that even has zucchini on the menu, let alone a roasted summer vegetable quesadilla with zucchini, summer squash, red peppers, red and white onions that are roasted to the most amazing, firm yet warm and comforting consistency, sprinkled with a light layer of melted mozzarella and encased in a spread of spicy black bean paste… all toasted up in a beautiful, crispy corn tortilla and served with plenty of sour cream and salsa?

Did I make you hungry?  If you like more traditional diner food, they have that too… although with homemade kettle chips instead of crumbly stuff from a bag.

I’ve seen their club sandwiches, their eggs and omelets, their French toast… and I’ve seen their hummus salad too… just imagine beautiful dark greens topped with loads of vegetables wedged between large blobs of every type and color of hummus you can imagine?

And who could resist the milkshake menu, with its adorable 50’s character milkshakes?

We caved and got the malted chocolate milkshake.  If you ask to share, like we do, they’ll bring you each your own glass topped with whipped cream… because one milkshake actually makes enough for two.

I wasn’t going to finish it… but I just couldn’t help myself.

Goodbye, Trolley Car.  I love you.  I’ll be trying to recreate your roasted summer vegetable quesadilla for the rest of my life, but without your ambience, without your grubby ketchup bottles, without the large posters of Elvis staring friendly-like at me, and without the finishing touch of your malted milkshakes… I’m destined to fail.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    June 9, 2010 3:49 pm

    mmm..sounds good!! Matt & I have never been there, but we’ll have to try it out! I love milkshakes too! 🙂

  2. Kathy Ayers permalink
    June 9, 2010 7:04 pm

    So many place I didn’t get to go to with you! Probably most of them food places, since you are such a foodie! Looks like so much fun and really good.

Leave a Reply

