Skip to content

Type A, Type B and Everything In Between

June 11, 2010

We interrupt our regularly scheduled programming to bring you a glimpse into the rest of our lives during this transitional time.

Do you really want to know what has been taking up most of my time lately?

Sitting in bed.

You see, I have this odd personality that is split between Type A and Type B.  And you want to know something really, really odd?  I only get things done when I’m in Type B mode.

When I’m in Type B mode, I can stay focused on my priorities.  I put on some music and we get to work.  The days are productive, the moving boxes get packed, the apartment gets into order.

But when I’m in Type A mode, I start to freak out.  My organization levels reach irrational proportions.  As in, I can’t stand to work on putting the books in boxes because it is driving me crazy that all of our winter shoes are scattered over the foyer and I don’t yet have boxes for all of those, and I have to figure out that first before I can deal with these books, but then I have to decide whether to keep the shoe rack and do I think that it will work in our new house?, but then, we’re going to have less income without me working full time and I don’t know if I’ll have the five dollars to buy a new shoe rack, and oh my goodness maybe I shouldn’t have thrown out that half a bag of old flour because maybe I won’t have any money to buy any flour when we get out there and what if we STARVE while living in our new big, beautiful home???!!!!  WE’RE GOING TO DIE, I TELL YOU!!!!

Type A mode usually appears the second I walk in the door from work Monday – Thursday.  So I stand in the foyer, drop my purse, and fret about whether we really can have eggs for dinner because I’ve got to get the frying pan packed up and…

Andy has brutally learned the warning signs of a Type A episode over this past month of moving drama.  So usually before I can get beyond the frying pan, he has forcibly plopped me into bed with a grilled cheese sandwich and told me to stay put.  Then he goes and actually gets things done during the evening.  Important things that I lose sight of in the face of my packing freak-out sessions.  Like reading the house contracts.  Like renting a moving truck.  Like paying the bills.

He usually comes back later to find me conked out or in a coma in front of another Arrested Development episode.  The Bluth family’s insanity makes my life seem quite peaceful.  It calms me.

Then Andy fixes me a bowl of ice cream.  He’s incredible.

Does anyone else out there have these crazy mood swings?  Is it going to be this nuts moving into a new place, or just moving out?  Does anyone else find themselves needing to crawl into bed for an evening just to make their mind take a break?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 9:34 pm

    we tell my daughter that we are going to buy her one of the portable beach cabanas so she can have her melt down room where ever she goes….she sounds just like you so you too might want to look into one.

    • Leah permalink*
      June 11, 2010 9:36 pm

      That sounds like a GREAT idea!!!!!! 😉

  2. Caitlin permalink
    June 11, 2010 10:13 pm

    That is my life exactly as described. 🙂 Is it a first born thing??

    Also, I love Arrested Development – it definitely puts me in a better mood. 🙂

  3. Nik permalink
    June 11, 2010 10:51 pm

    It must be a first born thing, I can SO relate. I’ve heard moving described as “as emotionally stressful as a death in the family”…… It gets better, promise. I moved over 9 times (I’m too drained to count and I can’t remember!) in 5 years. WITH KIDS! AND even pregnant~CROSS country. You can sooooo do this! As my mom says (and nana, too), put your big girl panties on, and deal with it! But really, just think. By the end of the summer this will just be memories!! One day at a time! Ask your mom to have nana stitch you a “this too shall pass” sign, I got one on the fridge!

  4. felicialauer permalink
    July 6, 2010 12:01 pm

    We are in the midst of a hasty move to Seattle right now, and I can’t tell you how hard I laughed when I read this! This describes perfectly the experience I am having.
    By the way, due to health problems there was a long intermission on my blog, but I have begun writing and putting up recipes again. Take a look if you get the chance (that is, of course, if you are in fact going to eat in Ohio and not just starve…) 🙂

Leave a Reply

