Skip to content

Goodbye, Phila. #6 – Achieving Pure Happiness by Gelato

June 15, 2010

After the debacle of cheesesteaks, Andy and I were hot and sweaty and it was about to pour gushing rain from the sky.  I needed a pick me up, and my feet hurt.  So we drove over to Center City, to 20th and Sansom, parked only a block from our destination and I hobbled along in my blistered, wedged feet, clutching Andy’s arm for dear life.

But everything got better when we stepped inside here.

I love Capogiro Gelateria.  It is my #1 Treat in Philadelphia.

Capogiro prides themselves on serving seasonal, fresh gelatos made with ingredients that they can get from the best sources possible – in the case of ingredients available year round, this means they are sourced from prime locations.  In terms of seasonal items like strawberry, it’s only available during the time it can be pulled straight from the ground locally.

The result is gelato that captures the essence of the flavor in an unbelievable way.  The almond gelato, for example, is so concentrated that it seems that you are getting the flavor of three almonds in each tiny bite.  And not almond-flavor, mind you.  The flavor of almonds – real almonds.

Check out the flavor list.  Every day the flavors change, as they make them fresh every morning.  And they don’t just have “cherry” – they have “bing cherry” and “queen anne cherry”.  They include unusual flavors like pine nut, lavender, and honeysuckle.  Sometimes they even have avocado, and goat cheese.

I personally am a sucker for the chocolate and other rich gelatos, that are so rich and thick and creamy that it looks like a tub of nutella lying in the display case.  Some of my favorites are dark chocolate (which gives new meaning to the term death by chocolate), Thai coconut milk, and hazelnut.

Andy always goes for the fruit gelatos, which are really a sorbet type of thing.  I’ve tasted his often enough to realize the virtue of these lighter versions and so for my last Capogiro gelato, I decided to spring for the kiwi and papaya.  Do you see the real kiwi seeds?  There are real minuscule papaya chunks in the papaya side too.

And can I just say?  Delicious.  And look how happy Andy is.

They come in these adorably cute little bowls that at first seem so tiny as to be ridiculous.  Not so.  By the time you’re done eating it with the eensy spoon, you’ll feel like you just ate a double-large bowl of ice cream.

This made my whole day better.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Caylan permalink
    June 16, 2010 10:34 am

    Yum, yum, yum! I love Capogiro! So glad you got to visit after your last day of work. Have a fun week with your family!

Leave a Reply

