Skip to content

Eyes to See

June 24, 2010

The world is full of beauty to be seen and touched and felt… but it takes work.

I try.  I try everyday.  It helps me to compose sentences in my head, and to search for just the right frame for a photo.  It pushes me to see the water drops that shine like stars on my baby sister’s eyes when she resurfaces from the swimming pool, and to feel the poignancy when a child says that “this was the best day… ever.”  In fact, I’m rarely ever not turning phrases in my head.

And then I like to come and share this with you.

If the writing is imperfect, or the picture is poorly composed, it only shows me how far I have to go in fully appreciating the value of all the beautiful things in life.

But if the writing is engaging, and the picture captures your heart, I thank God for the grace he’s given me in allowing me to dig deep and to have eyes to see his creative glory.

No matter what, I’m seizing life, through my own mediums.  I’m looking for the joy and humor and depth to be found in insignificance.  I just happen to do it through writing and photography.

And today I was just wondering… where and how do others find beauty?  Am I silly?  I’d love to hear the little places of your lives that bring joy… and how you manage to see it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 11:58 am

    I like to write and take pictures, too, but I don’t have your eye for color or your way with words. Do you ever feel like you miss something big and beautiful by seeing everything through a camera lens? I do sometimes. I love things that are familiar…the more I see them, the more beautiful they are: Tim’s face, our front step, the drive to church. This is safe, homey beauty. But there’s beauty in variety, too–I think it’s in the contrasts: a Florida beach; the Colorado mountains; red Georgia soil; the Shenandoah River Valley; Vermont water; Pennsylvania trees. A glimpse into God’s infinite enjoyment of all things beautiful!

    • Leah permalink*
      June 24, 2010 12:45 pm

      I LOVE red Georgia soil! I love your big picture nature beauty. Sometimes I do leave my camera at home if I really want to just soak something in. But I still love it for helping me see the things I’d normally ignore.

  2. Ellen permalink
    June 24, 2010 4:24 pm

    I find that my walks with the dog are frequently times when I reflect and observe. We go by the same houses each time, but I notice different things. Last night, one lawn had several sprinklers going, forming kind of a dome spraying water over the grass, and a solitary duck was nestled in the middle of it.

    Once I realized that Cam was not going to chase after this duck, I laughed. I bet you would have been able to make a nice picture of it.

    By the way, I’ve really been enjoying all your recent posts. I’ll have to give you more comments in person (soon!). I’m ashamed I haven’t written on my blog recently, but I guess that’s the effect of writing for a living, which I do enjoy.

    • Leah permalink*
      June 25, 2010 10:54 pm

      What a gorgeous image of the water and the ducks. I miss long walks with our family dog. And I can’t wait to hear your other comments! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

